top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Smith

My Life As A Southeastern Lion


Most of you guys know I’m a student at Southeastern Louisiana University. I started in August 2016 and December 2020 I’ll be graduating. My college years have flew by quick. How I got into Southeastern and how I became well known is a quite interesting story.

For starters, my older sister graduated from Southeastern with a degree in business management in Spring 2015. I decided to follow in her footsteps in my own way. I’m a general management major. When I started apply for college, I didn’t have the ACT score to get in. In high school, I took the ACT 4 times and always got the same score. A 15. Long story short, I was given the opportunity to take another type of test to get in Southeastern and I had to make a certain score from Math or English to get in. I took the test twice because the first time I didn’t score high enough. So the second time, I got an extremely high score on the Math part and passed. Usually people didn’t score high enough in Math, but I did. That day at that moment I got accepted into Southeastern.

This blog post is specifically for the incoming freshman that are coming. I’m going to share more tips and more details about how my life as a Southeastern Lion.


‪#1: Keep tabs of your classes. Most teachers won’t remind you about assignments that are due. Keep that syllabus at all times and put in important dates. Such as exam dates, assignment due dates, presentation dates in your calendar to remind you. Your grades are your top priority. The first year with classes aren’t easy. If you have problems talk to your teacher about it in person or email. ‬Don’t get an 8 am class. Don’t do that to yourself. 8 am in college is different from 8 am in high school.

This is a prime example of what my schedule looks like on average.


I know it’s a lot every week, but I get it all done in a snap. I have everything color coded. I have it email me the reminders because I’m always checking my emails. I make this look too easy when I know for a fact it’s hard.


‪#2: Get involved. There are several organizations on campus. You can benefit from it and it’s a great thing to have on your resume. Check out all these organizations right here: http://www.southeastern.edu/admin/stu_orgs/index.html ‬

My involvement is incredible because I did so much at one time while trying to balance everything. Here’s my involvement:

Campus Activities Board aka CAB: This was the first organization I ever joined. It’s a fun and amazing organization. Most of the events that happen during the week are from us. Here’s more information right here:http://www.southeastern.edu/admin/cab/



Southeastern Christian Association aka SCA: This is the second organization I joined. It’s a nondenominational bible study group that meets once a week to do bible study and have various Christian events during the week.



Homecoming Committee: For two years in a row, I served on the homecoming committee. This is through SGA (Student Government Association). It’s a lot of fun, but a lot of work and creativity is in involved. My first year, I was in charge of Homecoming Kickoff. I contacted local businesses in the area to come and share discounts for students. The next year (last year), I was the contest chairman. I was in charge of finding judges for all the contests that were happening during the week.



Student worker: For a few months (last year) I worked as a student manger for the volleyball team. It was a blast and it was the first job I ever had. How did I get the job? I originally applied to be work with the Athletic Marketing Department. I didn’t get the job, but they kept my resume just in case of any other openings in the Athletic Department. Not long after that I got an email from Head Coach White asking me to come in for an interview. I went, got the job, began one week later. It was a great job. I got to bond with the team and we got to know each other. They were absolutely amazing. Right after that season was over, I began to work for the Athletic Ticket Department for a few months. I was the one who was scanning tickets or student IDs at the gate at games. Both jobs were great work experiences. I learned a lot and was able to expand myself even more for my career.


‪#3: Meet new people. Don’t always be the person who is always in the dorm room all day. There are events that are happening everyday. In your classes, the union, in your dorm building, social media, etc. you can make a friend. It’s not hard. It’s great networking. ‬

Meet my friends that I made in college. (I have way more than this. Trust me.)



Almost every semester I make a new friend. Whether in class, dorm, union, social media, anywhere. I remembered how I met everyone. I’m so grateful and blessed to have them in my life. They make life better.

I also connect with my teachers and people from upper level staff. The best person to stay in contact/connection with is our Dean of Students, Dr. Gabe Willis. Fun fact, I was one of few students selected to be on the student selection committee for Dean of Students. In other words, we got to interview potential Dean of Students candidates and make our decision of who we think would fit best for the job. Dr. Gabe is the coolest person there is. His interaction with everyone is a incredible and he’s down to earth.


#4: Always keep these on you at all times going to class or anywhere on campus. Your student ID, phone, and keys. Your student ID, phone, and keys to dorm room are very important to have. You don’t ever want to lose them. Student ID gets you into everything. Dorm building, campus events, the Mane Dish, certain areas in the library, the gym, and it holds your Cub Cash. Cub Cash is used at all campus dining areas and on campus markets. Be cautious with it and don’t spend it up all at once. Dorm keys are important. Guard that key with your life. Don’t ever lose it because you don’t want to pay a fine.


#5: Always check your email and social media. Why? You don’t want to miss any announcements or updates about anything on campus it from your classes. Checking emails are more important. Check them every single day. I check my emails roughly at least 30 times a day. You never know what can come up. Check social media as well. A lot of times most of the information about what’s going on campus is on social media. Make sure you follow every Southeastern based account. As well as, the higher level staff.


For even more detail about college life, check out these blog posts:

https://missjasminesmith20.wixsite.com/southernlifeofjas/post/my-very-1st-weekend-away-from-home


Throughout these few years, I’ve enjoyed college life. I was only 17 when I started and I’ll be 22 when I graduate this December. I’m sad that it’s going to be over in a blink. Along the way, I’ve learned so much that has helped me with chasing my career. What I learned in the classroom and outside of class helped me grow into who I am today. Using this platform is the first stepping stone for me. I hope my story helps and good luck to you.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page