top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Smith

Mortal Kombat 2021 Movie Review


This past Friday, the Mortal Kombat movie came out. I saw it that night and watched it. I loved it from beginning to end. Growing up this was one of many games I played as a child. You would think for me at age 5 or 6 that I wasn’t allowed to play it. Back then it was 16-bit graphics and it wasn’t as bloodily as the new we games. I’m going to be sharing my review of the film. Be aware there are spoilers. So if you want to, make sure you watch the movie before reading this post.

How was the movie?

Overall on a scale of 1-10, I give it a solid 8. There were so many mixed reviews about it because the storyline wasn’t good and some of the characters weren’t good. I loved it. The opening was so good. Opened up with the fight between Scorpion and Sub-Zero. A classic rivalry. Sub-Zero kills Scorpion’s family and Scorpion seeks revenge to kill Sub-Zero for killing his family. Watching the film had me feeling like I was watching the cut scenes in the game and I almost burst out a controller wanting to play along.

The Characters

I like Cole’s character. With him playing as a relative of Scorpion was so cool. Even though Cole is an unknown new character, he played a great part. The whole storyline of the movie revolved around him. Just like in MKX, that whole game revolved around Cassie Cage. Who was also an unknown new character.

The only problem I did have was that there weren’t as many game characters in the movie. The only ones we saw were Raiden, Scorpion, Sub-Zero, Shang Tsung, Sonya Blade, Jax, Mileena, Kano, Liu Kang, Kung Lao, Nitara, Kabul, Goro, Reptile, Noob Sailbot, and Reiko. There weren't that many. I expected there to be more. Hopefully, we see more in the sequel.

Raiden wasn’t a great character in the movie. He doesn’t fight in the movie. He just advised everyone. I expected more from him because he’s a god and has all this power.

Hints Throughout The Movie of the Storyline

There were so many hints in the movie that you couldn’t miss. The most obvious one is the Mortal Kombat symbol. Anyone in that movie who had that symbol plays a key part in the movie. Anyone who has that symbol means that they are a target and are invited to a tournament to fight.

I was confused by the flashes that Cole was getting, but it took till almost the end of the movie to understand. Those flashes were of Scorpion in hell. Those flashes show that Scorpion is going to return for his revenge. Plus, Cole is a relative to Scorpion.

At the very beginning of the movie, you see Scorpion's wife using a very unique tool to garden with. That tool is really important and one of the most iconic weapons from the franchise. Scorpion takes that tool and ties it with a rope and it becomes the Kunai.

The Easter Eggs

The Easter eggs in this movie were way too obvious to miss. You can see them plain as day. The Easter eggs I caught were the photo of Nightwolf, Shinnok’s amulet, Kitana’s fans, Johnny Cage movie poster, photo of Kotal Kahn, and the statues and murals seen in Raiden’s temple.

Now I have some theories about this. I think that these are clues to a possible sequel.

Nightwolf makes an appearance as either a good or bad guy.

Shinnok will appear and have it all referencing MKX.

Kitana is dead/ evil undead warrior or she has already been taken by Shao Kahn.

Johnny Cage is going to be recruited to fight because he has the Mortal Kombat symbol as well.

Kotal Kahn will appear as a good guy and will agree to side with Raiden.

We could see Raiden fight in the tournament as well.

Those are my theories. I could be wrong, but this is what I hope for.

Movie and Game Comparison

Throughout the movie, you will see fatalities. That’s no question. You will also see moves from the game in the movie. A perfect example would be Liu Kang. We all know it and love it, the bicycle kick. He does that at the end of the movie. That is one of the original MK moves. That dates back to MK 1. I used to use that move every time I would play with him.

Here are some quotes you will hear:

“Kano wins.”

“Fatality.”

“Get over here.”

It was basically like the newer games, but with several old-school references.

Sequel

I and several fans want a sequel. This is what I want for the sequel.

Johnny Cage, Kenshi, Kitana, and Nightwolf are recruited to fight in the tournament by Sonya, Jax, Cole, and Liu Kang.

Shang Tsung gets aid from Shao Kahn and Quan Chi. They bring Sindel, Sheeva, Baraka, and Erron Black. Quan Chi takes Shang Tsung’s warriors and brings them back to life and goes against Shang Tsung.

Kung Lao comes back as an undead warrior. Him and Liu Kang fight.

The tournament happens in an actual arena.

Use actual fatalities from the game.

Sub-Zero becomes good. He and Scorpion put their differences aside to help defeat Shao Kahn and Quan Chi.

I know that it’s all over the place, but that’s what I want to see happen.

The movie is so good. I would watch it a second time.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page