top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Smith

Modern Day Definition of How To Live Life



There has been a tweet I’ve been seeing surfing social media.



Most people seem to agree with what is said. I asked my followers their opinions.



Now as for my opinion, I disagree on so many levels. We are living in a time where people are telling those of us who are really young how to live life. In other words, live life the same way as social media tells us and meet success by a certain age.

How do I disagree? I will explain each part of the tweet.

He says that we think starting a business at $999 is too much and buying a new iPhone that is $999 is no problem. As someone like me who is business minded and has a degree in it, starting a business is not easy. There is a lot more than investing $1000 to start a business. You have to have a business plan, you have to know who your audience is, and you have to keep up with trends that come and go daily. On top of that, most businesses don’t take off on the first round. Meaning, people won’t buy or invest in their business. If someone wants to buy a new iPhone that’s their discussion. Using that they can make content with a better quality of the video or picture. With these two things, you can’t tell someone how to spend or invest their money. Furthermore, I can guarantee that most adults don’t even know how to manage their money and think they are experts on how to manage money.

He says that we say buying healthy groceries that costs up to $100 is too much and that buying dinner and drinks that costs up to $100 is no problem. We are living in a time where almost every healthy food item is expensive and hard to find. Groceries are getting expensive anyway. The average grocery bill for a single person is up to $350 per month. For a family of four it’s up to $900 per month. You can do the math. As for buying dinner and drinks, if you do that every night then yes that is a problem. If you do that every month or every two months, then that is not a problem. If you are someone who wants to celebrate something or spurge, where is the problem? But for this guy having being verified on Twitter with "Dr." by his name, he can afford do that. Some of us, can't do that.

He says that we say watching Netflix for 2 hours you would want to watch one more episode because you have time, but learning a new skill for 2 hours is no time. Like what? Who literally sits down or stops what they are doing for 2 hours and learns a new skill? We develop skills overtime. For example, I have a skill in leadership. I didn’t understand or knew I had it in me. As you all know, I was super involved in college doing so much. I did have various leadership positions. I was unsure if I would be able to handle them and lead by working with people. After attending a leadership retreat in college, I understood it better and realized that I had leadership in me since I was in high school. All I did and still do is just give my best in my work. Watching a movie or TV show 2 hours in, if you have a lot of time on your hands or if you want to relax and if it’s an interesting program you are not wanting to stop watching till you see the ending. We all have our movie and shows that we watch that we want to see the ending. Bridgerton was mine. I was invested in that show wanting to know what was going to happen next. I’m iffy about if I’m going to see season 2. What you decide what you are going to do throughout the day is your choice.

He ends his tweet saying “Life is about choices, stop blaming the ‘lack of opportunity’”. Are you sure? I agree that we all make a choice in life, but the lack of opportunity? Maybe it’s not that. Maybe it’s the lack of experience. If you want an opportunity for a job, you have to have experience whether it’s 1 year or 5 years. I learned this from my professors, employers don’t care about what college you graduated from or your GPA. They care about your experiences, skills, and what you can do to help a business or company grow. How do you think I was able to have 3 different student jobs in college? My experience, skills, and what I could do to serve the university community well. And I fulfilled that to the max. Plus, certain opportunities aren’t meant for people. There could be something even better. (I’m learning that myself.)

This day in age is all about trying to normalize and manifest things. I don’t believe in being normal or manifesting. We are all different. Like I’m a big power ranger nerd/fan, I’m a big sports fan, and I’m a content creator. I’m someone who would much rather stay home on a Saturday and do a marathon of my favorite TV show than going out.

Social media these days are just so off the wall full of people talking about false things and are doing anything for clout. If someone speaks something that is 100% the truth and is the right to them and it has always been the truth for years, they get put on so much blast being called every type of name used these days. You all know what they are. But I learned why people do that. They do that because someone is telling them the honest truth and people can’t handle nor want the truth. They rather have the lies than someone tell them the truth. The problem with lies is that you have to keep lying to keep the lie going. Eventually, the lie doesn’t make sense anymore.

A perfect example of how people are off on social media. People say how they want people who are from the silent generation and baby boomers politicians to just die because they don’t like what they do and blame them for how the world is. At the same time, these are the same people who say they want their grandparents to live forever. Little do people know that the politicians and people’s grandparents are from the same generation.

We let social media dictate our lives so much. Especially those of us who are in our 20s. They say graduate college by the time you are 21 and have a job (I was 22 when I graduated college), have your master’s degree at 25, get married before you are 30, have kids before you are 35, be retired by the time you are 65. Let’s be real. No one is ever going to do that or has done that. Everyone’s path of life is different. There are those who got married at a young age or an older age. There are those who graduated college early or late. There are those who had kids at a young age or an older age. There are those who retired at a young age. The thing with social media these days is that it’s not accurate and people are usually putting a front. Making those of us feel insecure.

I’m at a point that I don't listen to what is said on social media because 95% is not true facts and people don’t know what they are talking about. Whatever God has in store for me, I’ll take it and I fully believe. He knows what is best for me. When I get my advice on certain things in life I don’t understand that the entire internet can’t tell me, I go to my parents. My parents have a lot of wisdom and know the world better than I do. They were my age once too. I go to them and ask them and tell it to me straight. I take it in and apply it for my life in this modern day world. I live my life 75% old school and 25% modern day.

Now with the tweet that I mentioned earlier, you can’t force or make people on how they need to live their life. It’s up to them and us to decide on how we live it. We have our own choices to make.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page