top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine Smith

Appreciating Childhood In Adult Life



Growing up we have things from our childhood that hold a staple in our hearts. Sometimes those things hold a strong meaning that we didn’t know growing up and we realize it as adults. I’m going to share a part of my childhood that is dear to my heart and holds meaning to me. 

Growing up everyone has watched Power Rangers and wanted to be one.

This was my favorite show to watch as a child. I would watch it on Saturday mornings with my older sister and we would lose our minds. I watched Mighty Morphin (all 3 seasons), Zeo, Turbo, Ninja Storm, and Dino Thunder. Power Rangers is the longest-running kid’s TV show of all time. The show has been around since August 1993 and we have witnessed 3 movies. 

We have seen more and more people become a part of one of the greatest franchises of all time.


What made the show so good?

It was the first time I ever saw actual real people play superheroes. 

I remember growing up only seeing cartoon superheroes. Most of the time it wasn’t a team or didn’t work together as a team. Power Rangers had a full team that worked together. On top of that, there was no one getting upset about stereotypes and race in the show. A black ranger being played by a black guy and a yellow ranger being played by an Asian girl. 

No one didn’t care and wasn’t sensitive like how people are today. It was an incredible multiracial show. People saw it as a great kid’s show about teenagers with attitudes who worked together to protect the world from evil. As a kid, when I watched it that’s what I saw. I loved every minute of it. The cheesy lines, the zords, the action, everything. 


Who is my favorite character(s)?

Clearly, I have more than one favorite character. I loved every person. That’s 100% a fact. From the series that I watched, Tommy (MMPR, Zeo, Turbo, Dino Thunder), Kimberly (MMPR), and Kira (Dino Thunder).

I know if you are wondering if I’m team Tommy or team Jason. They were really great leaders from watching the show, but I’m a team Tommy. Each character from the show was so unique. Kira from Dino Thunder is a perfect example. Her character was super sassy and she kept all of those guys in check. In my opinion, she was like “yeah I know that I'm the only girl ranger in the group, but focus.” Why is it that the yellow female rangers were so sassy and savage? I love that. Another thing about the characters is a great amount of representation. If you look at Zach and Aisha, they were like the 1st black superheroes I have ever seen on TV and in a movie. If we didn’t have them, there wouldn’t have been any Black Panther. 

As well as Asian representation with Trini and Adam. Again, I don’t remember seeing any other Asian superheroes on TV and in a movie. It felt good to have that and becoming more appreciative later on. Big props to them for that.


Favorite episode(s)

There were so many good episodes in the franchise. I would 100% go back and rewatch it for nostalgia. 

  1. White Light: This episode no doubt is the most iconic out of all of the episodes made. We all knew Tommy as the green ranger, but when he came back as the white ranger….super iconic. What more can I say?

  2. Legacy of Power and Back in Black: These episodes are my favorite to watch. It’s like a history of Power Rangers. If you haven’t seen it, here’s a bit of a spoiler. Tommy’s students, who are power rangers, found the video diary of his history as a power ranger and the ones after him. It covers from season 1 to season 12. What better way than to learn the history of power rangers? Back in Black falls in with the Legacy of Power episode. We have seen Tommy a green ranger, white ranger, and red ranger x2. He comes back as the black ranger. A totally different color. 

  3. Ninja Storm crossover: Out of all the Power Rangers crossovers, this is hands down the best one. A 2 part crossover. I’m not gonna spoil about these episodes, go watch it for yourself and be prepared to be amazed. 

Iconic right?


The Movies

I don’t care what anyone says. The first two movies were so good and I would watch over and over again. 

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers The Movie is a classic. 

This film came out in 1995 and we are still loving it today. Made $66.4 million at the box office. Everything about the movie was so good. So many good lines came from this movie.

  • “Yeah, we’re the power rangers. Ooo where’s my autograph book?”

  • “Have a nice trip. See ya next fall. Buh-bye. Gotta love it.”

  • “I’m a frog.”

  • “Taking care of business.”

The “I’m a frog” is clearly the most iconic line. Little did I know that it was unscripted.  

Remember as a kid watching the movie so much and trying to copy the same fighting sequence. This is a gem.

Turbo A Power Rangers Movie was the 2nd installment. 


This came out in 1997 and made $9.6 million at the box office.  It follows along with the storyline of Zeo. What I liked about this movie was the zords. Come on! The cars were insane. 


Whoever came up with the idea to use cars instead of various different animals is smart. We all watch power rangers have different types of animals as zords, but using cars brought in on a whole different level. I have a conspiracy that the Fast and Furious franchise could have been inspired by the cars. Think about it. Turbo cars were fast. Fast and Furious cars were fast. The action with the cars in both films. Makes you wonder.

Both movies hold up because it keeps up with the storyline of the show a bit and holds up with the characters as well.

The 2017 reboot didn’t do enough of that feeling. 

There was 100% a lot of hype about the film because everyone grew up watching the show and it got people talking.

It made $142.3 million at the box office. I saw it and there were too many changes being done. It took away the nologia from how it was with the show and the two movies. The only thing about the movie that was great was the cameo apperances of Tommy and Kimberly.

If Hollywood was to do another Power Rangers movie reboot or remake, in my opinion, I would recommend that the directors, producers, and writers go and watch the earlier shows and the ‘95 and ‘97 film at least a couple of times to get a better idea and feel of how to do the movie. Also, including the original cast in the storyline because they play a major part in the franchise. Plus, keeping up with the storyline of the comic books will take it even more. Having them do just an episode or a cameo in a movie isn’t enough. You can't let go of this classic just yet.


I do have to say, as a young adult and going back and watching the old episodes and movies made me feel like how I was when I was a child. I stopped watching the show and movies by the time I was about 8 years old. I reconnected when I was a freshman in college (almost 5 years ago) when I saw a YouTuber named Berlezy do a funny expose video about Mighty Morphin’s intro. In other words, he made jokes about it. It was hilarious.

This show will forever have an impact on the superhero world and on the lives of those who grew up watching the show. I hope the franchise never goes away. This is something that deserves to stay.


“May the power protect you.” - Zordon 

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page